Hamilton study to improve treatment for a hard-to-treat cancer receives $1.2 million in new funding: Canadian Cancer Society announces inaugural Impact Grants

26 February 2013

HAMILTON -

A new type of radiation therapy could potentially change the standard of care for people with inoperable early-stage lung cancer.

The Canadian Cancer Society has awarded a $1.2 million Impact Grant to Dr Anand Swaminath, a radiation oncologist at Juravinski Cancer Centre, to lead a Canadian clinical trial comparing two different types of radiation therapy for lung cancer.

Stereotactic radiation uses advanced imaging techniques to deliver extremely precise high doses of radiation in fewer treatments, while conventional radiation delivers lower doses in more frequent treatments. The effectiveness of these two radiation therapies in treating lung cancers has never been compared in a large clinical trial.

The clinical trial will look at the effectiveness of each type of radiation in shrinking tumours as well as overall survival, severity of side effects and quality of life for patients.

“If stereotactic radiation is found to be more effective than conventional therapy, with fewer side effects and lower healthcare costs, this type of radiation could become the standard of care for inoperable early-stage lung cancer across Canada and internationally,” says Dr Swaminath, Assistant Professor, Department of Oncology, McMaster University.

“Significant funding such as the Society’s Impact Grant provides us the time and resources needed to determine the effectiveness of this therapy and possibly lead to better care for a hard-to-treat cancer,” he added.

“We are thrilled to be able to fund these outstanding new research projects that have such tremendous promise,” says Luba Slatkovska, Senior Manager, Research, Canadian Cancer Society. “In our 75th anniversary year, we remain committed to making a difference in the lives of Canadians by funding the best research and making the most impact against cancer.”

Dr. Swaminath’s grant is one of 11 new Impact Grants awarded today by the Canadian Cancer Society for a total value of more than $13 million. This new funding program is designed to provide a mechanism for scientists to adopt innovations and accelerate the application of new knowledge to address problems in cancer research. These grants have the potential to improve patient quality of life and reduce cancer incidence and deaths.

These are the largest single grants ever offered by the Canadian Cancer Society at a maximum value of $1.25 million per grant over five years. They are highly prestigious grants and are intended to fund the best, most promising cancer science in the country and move it significantly forward.

The Canadian Cancer Society is a national community-based organization of volunteers whose mission is the eradication of cancer and the enhancement of the quality of life of people living with cancer. When you want to know more about cancer, visit our website www.cancer.ca or call our toll-free, bilingual Cancer Information Service at 1 888 939-3333.

For more information, please contact:

Justin Edmonstone

Public Affairs

Canadian Cancer Society

Ontario Division

Phone: 416-323-7026

Une étude effectuée à Hamilton pour améliorer le traitement d’un cancer difficile à traiter reçoit 1,2 million de dollars – La Société canadienne du cancer annonce les premières Subventions pour un impact

26 février 2013

Hamilton -

Un nouveau type de radiothérapie pourrait potentiellement changer les niveaux de soins pour les personnes ayant un cancer du poumon à un stade précoce et inopérable.

La Société canadienne du cancer a décerné une subvention pour un impact de 1,2 million de dollars au Dr Anand Swaminath, radio-oncologue au Centre de cancérologie Juravinski, pour effectuer un essai clinique canadien visant à comparer deux types différents de radiothérapie pour le cancer du poumon.

Une radiothérapie stéréotaxique utilise des techniques d’imagerie de pointe pour administrer de fortes doses de radiation extrêmement précises en moins de traitements, tandis que la radiothérapie traditionnelle administre des doses plus faibles en plus de traitements. L’efficacité de ces deux radiothérapies pour traiter le cancer du poumon n’a jamais été comparée dans le cadre d’un essai clinique d’envergure.

L’essai clinique examinera l’efficacité de chaque type de radiothérapie pour faire rétrécir les tumeurs ainsi que la survie globale, la gravité des effets secondaires et la qualité de vie des patients.

« Si la radiothérapie stéréotaxique s’avère plus efficace que le traitement conventionnel, avec moins d’effets secondaires et des coûts de soins de santé moins élevés, ce type de radiothérapie pourrait devenir la norme pour le cancer du poumon à un stade précoce et inopérable partout au Canada et au monde », dit le Dr Swaminath, professeur adjoint, département d’oncologie, Université McMaster.

« Un financement important comme la Subvention pour un impact de la Société nous donne le temps et les ressources nécessaires pour déterminer l’efficacité de ce traitement et de mener possiblement à de meilleurs soins pour un cancer difficile à traiter », ajoute-t-il.

« Nous sommes heureux d’être en mesure de financer ces nouveaux projets de recherche exceptionnels qui promettent énormément », dit Luba Slatkovska, gestionnaire principale, recherche, Société canadienne du cancer. « En cette année de notre 75e anniversaire, nous demeurons engagés à faire une différence dans la vie des Canadiens en finançant les meilleurs projets de recherche et ayant le plus d’impact contre le cancer. »

La subvention du Dr Swaminath est une des 11 nouvelles Subventions pour un impact accordées aujourd’hui par la Société canadienne du cancer, pour 13 millions de dollars au total. Ce nouveau programme de subventions se veut un mécanisme permettant aux scientifiques d’innover et d’accélérer l’application des nouvelles connaissances pour répondre aux questions de la recherche sur le cancer. Ces subventions ont le potentiel pour améliorer la qualité de vie de patients et réduire l’incidence du cancer et les décès qui y sont reliés.

Ces subventions, allant jusqu’à 1,25 millions de dollars sur cinq ans, sont les plus importantes jamais accordées par la Société canadienne du cancer. Ces subventions très prestigieuses visent à financer la recherche sur le cancer la meilleure et la plus prometteuse au pays et lui donner l’impulsion nécessaire pour faire des avancées importantes.

Renseignements :

Justin Edmonstone

Affaires publiques

Société canadienne du cancer

Division de l’Ontario

Téléphone : 416-323-7026