Canadian Cancer Society youth advocates at TIFF to butt smoking out of movies

07 September 2013

TORONTO -

Youth advocates at TIFF.Youth advocates from across Ontario are at the Toronto International Film Festival today to call for action on smoking in youth-rated movies.

The youth will invite TIFF movie-goers to pose on a red carpet with a movie-themed backdrop to have their photos taken celebrity-style while raising awareness about the need to change Ontario’s film rating system. The red carpet is located near the intersection of King and Simcoe streets outside of St. Andrew’s Church.

“We know that the more youth see smoking in movies, the more likely they are to try smoking,” says 17-year-old Shadi Mousavi Nia of Richmond Hill. “The tobacco industry knows if they don’t get youth to try smoking before the age of 18, chances are they never will. We don’t want our generation to become smokers.”

The youth advocates will also ask for support for smoke-free youth-rated movies in Ontario by collecting signatures on postcards and online. Ontarians can show their support for smoke-free movies at takeaction.cancer.ca/smokefreemovies

“Tobacco companies are no longer allowed to directly market their products to young people through media such as TV, radio and print. It’s a problem that actors are lighting up on the silver screen because it displays tobacco use as more popular than it is. In reality, 16% of adults and 9% of youth smoke in Ontario” says Nicole McInerney, Senior Coordinator Public Issues.

The Canadian Cancer Society is calling on the Ontario Film Review Board to make changes to its movie rating system so that any new movies that have smoking scenes are rated 18A. This would ensure that all movies in Ontario rated for children and teens (G, PG and 14A) are smoke-free.

Fast facts

  • Nearly 90% of smokers start before the age of 18.
  • 30% of cancer deaths and 85% of lung cancer deaths are caused by tobacco use.
About Canadian Cancer Society youth advocates

Canadian Cancer Society youth advocates are between the ages of 14-24 and are dedicated volunteers committed to engaging their peers and the greater community as cancer fighters on issues such as smoking in movies, flavoured tobacco and indoor tanning that impact youth. Youth use their voices and creativity to speak up to further the Society’s advocacy efforts aimed at policy change at the provincial level of government.

The Canadian Cancer Society (CCS) is the only national charity that supports Canadians with all cancers in communities across the country. No other organization does what we do; we are the voice for Canadians who care about cancer. We fund groundbreaking research, provide a support system for all those affected by cancer and advocate to governments for important social change.

Help us make a difference. Call 1-888-939-3333 or visit cancer.ca today.

For more information, please contact:

Justin Edmonstone

Public Affairs

Canadian Cancer Society

Ontario Division

Phone: 416-323-7026

Les jeunes militants de la Société canadienne du cancer présents au TIFF pour éliminer le tabagisme dans les films

07 septembre 2013

Toronto -

Les jeunes militants venus de partout en Ontario sont présents aujourd’hui au Festival international du film de Toronto pour lancer un appel à l’action sur le tabagisme dans les films à l’intention des jeunes.

Les jeunes inviteront les cinéphiles à se faire photographier comme les célébrités sur le tapis rouge devant une toile de fonds appropriée tout en sensibilisant au besoin de modifier le système de classification des films de l’Ontario. Le tapis rouge est situé près de l’intersection des rues King et Simcoe à l’extérieur de l’église St. Andrew’s.

« Nous savons que plus les jeunes voient l’usage du tabac dans les films, plus ils sont susceptibles d’essayer de fumer », dit Shadi Mousavi Nia, 17 ans de Richmond Hill. « L’industrie du tabac sait que si elle ne convainc pas les jeunes de commencer à fumer avant 18 ans, il est fort probable qu’ils ne commenceront jamais. Nous ne voulons pas que les jeunes notre génération deviennent fumeurs. »

Les jeunes militants demanderont aussi l’appui des cinéphiles envers des films sans fumée à l’intention des jeunes en Ontario en recueillant des signatures sur des cartes postales et en ligne. Les Ontariens peuvent démontrer leur appui en visitant takeaction.cancer.ca/smokefreemovies.

« Les sociétés productrices de tabac n’ont plus le droit d’annoncer directement leurs produits aux jeunes par le biais des médias comme la télévision, la radio et les médias imprimés. C’est un problème que les acteurs fument à l’écran parce que cela transmet le message que l’usage du tabac est plus populaire qu’il ne l’est. En réalité, 16 % des adultes et 9 % des jeunes fument en Ontario », dit Nicole McInerney, coordonnatrice principale, questions d’intérêt public.

La Société canadienne du cancer fait appel à la Commission de contrôle cinématographique de l’Ontario pour qu’elle apporte des changements à son système de classification des films afin que tout nouveau film ayant des scènes incluant l’usage du tabac soit classifié 18A. Ceci permettrait de s’assurer que tous les films en Ontario à l’intention des enfants et des adolescents (G, PG et 14A) soient sans fumée.

Quelques faits

  • Presque 90 % des fumeurs commencent à fumer avant 18 ans.
  • 30 % des décès dus au cancer et 85 % des décès dus au cancer du poumon sont causés par l’usage du tabac.

À propos des jeunes militants de la Société canadienne du cancer
Les jeunes militants sont âgés entre 14 et 24 ans et sont des bénévoles dévoués déterminés à engager leurs pairs et l’ensemble de la communauté comme combattants du cancer sur les questions qui touchent les jeunes comme le tabagisme dans les films, le tabac aromatisé et le bronzage artificiel. Les jeunes utilisent leurs voix et leur créativité pour faire progresser les efforts de défense de l’intérêt public de la Société visant à obtenir des changements dans les politiques au niveau du gouvernement provincial.

À propos de la Société canadienne du cancer
Depuis 75 ans, la Société canadienne du cancer est avec les Canadiens dans le combat pour la vie. Toutes ces années, nous avons travaillé sans relâche à prévenir le cancer, à financer la recherche et à soutenir les personnes touchées par la maladie. Forts de cette expérience, nous continuons de lutter avec les Canadiens pour changer le cancer à jamais afin qu’ils soient moins nombreux à y faire face et plus nombreux à y survivre. Pour en savoir plus, visitez cancer.ca ou appelez notre Service d'information sur le cancer, au 1 888 939-3333 (ATS 1-866-786-3934).

Renseignements :

Justin Edmonstone

Affaires publiques

Société canadienne du cancer

Division de l’Ontario

Téléphone : 416-323-7026