Canadian Cancer Society to attend the Association of Municipalities of Ontario Conference

16 August 2013

Ottawa -

As municipal and provincial representatives gather in Ottawa for the Association of Municipalities of Ontario (AMO) AGM and annual conference, the Canadian Cancer Society is calling on elected officials to support policies that will improve public health and reduce the risk of cancer.

“The Society recognizes the important leadership role municipalities and the provincial government have in ensuring healthy communities across the province,” says Florentina Stancu-Soare, Senior Coordinator, Public Issues, Canadian Cancer Society, Ontario Division. “This is why we are challenging officials to take a more active role in the fight against cancer by supporting legislation that prevents cancer.”

The Society is urging delegates and other elected officials participating in the AMO annual conference to take action by:

  • implementing outdoor smoke-free bylaws, including patios, parks, and other public spaces;
  • protecting youth under the age of 18 from indoor tanning and restricting the marketing and promotion that goes along with it by supporting provincial legislation;
  • protecting Ontarians from environmental and occupational exposures to toxics; and
  • speaking with Canadian Cancer Society representatives in the Exhibit Hall to learn about the Society and what can be done to keep communities healthy.

Approximately 30 per cent of cancer deaths and 85 per cent of lung cancer deaths are caused by tobacco. Of the 444 Ontario municipalities attending the conference, over 100 municipalities have passed outdoor smoke-free bylaws to protect the health of their citizens.

Woman in tanning bed

Melanoma skin cancer is one of the most common forms of skin cancer in young Ontarians aged 15 – 29 years of age, and is one of the most preventable.

“Indoor tanning causes cancer,” says Stancu-Soare. “We have been working tirelessly in challenging our elected leaders to take action and support a ban on tanning bed usage for youth under 18.”

Indoor-tanning bylaws have been passed in the Town of Oakville, Region of Peel (which includes Brampton, Caledon and Mississauga) and the City of Belleville.

A recent poll showed that 96 per cent of Ontarians feel it is their right to be informed about toxic chemicals they are exposed to in their workplace. 92 per cent of Ontarians agree that businesses should reduce the use and release of potentially toxic substances into land, air and water in order to create a healthier environment and protect people from potential harm. Provincial and Federal reporting laws only include large industries. Municipal bylaws are needed to ensure toxic substances used in small and medium facilities are also tracked and recorded.

The Society believes that working with government and legislators to bring about healthy public policies is a vital part of the fight against cancer.

The Canadian Cancer Society is a national community-based organization of volunteers whose mission is the eradication of cancer and the enhancement of the quality of life of people living with cancer. When you want to know more about cancer, visit our website www.cancer.ca or call our toll-free, bilingual Cancer Information Service at 1 888 939-3333.


For more information, please contact:

Susan Fekete

Communications Manager

Canadian Cancer Society

Phone: 613-565-2522 ext 4985

La Société canadienne du cancer sera présente au congrès annuel de l’Association des municipalités de l'Ontario

16 août 2013

Ottawa -

Alors que les représentants municipaux et provinciaux se réunissent à Ottawa pour l’assemblée générale annuelle et le congrès de l’Association des municipalités de l’Ontario (AMO), la Société canadienne du cancer fait appel aux fonctionnaires élus pour qu’ils appuient des politiques qui amélioreront la santé publique et réduiront le risque de cancer.

« La Société reconnaît le rôle de leadership important qu’ont les municipalités et le gouvernement provincial pour garantir des collectivités en santé partout dans la province », dit Florentina Stancu-Soare, coordonnatrice principale, questions d’intérêt public, Société canadienne du cancer, Division de l’Ontario. « C’est pourquoi nous lançons un défi aux fonctionnaires de jouer un rôle plus actif dans le combat contre le cancer en appuyant des lois qui préviennent le cancer. »

La Société demande aux

délégués et aux autres représentants élus participant au congrès annuel de l’AMO de passer à l’action en :

  • mettant en œuvre des règlements pour obtenir des espaces extérieurs sans fumée, y compris les terrasses, les parcs et les autres lieux publics;
  • protégeant les jeunes de moins de 18 ans contre le bronzage artificiel et en restreignant le marketing et la promotion qui l’accompagnent en appuyant une loi provinciale;
  • protégeant les Ontariens contre les expositions environnementales et professionnelles aux substances toxiques; et
  • parlant aux représentants de la Société canadienne du cancer dans la Salle des exposants pour en apprendre plus sur la Société et sur ce que l’on peut faire pour maintenir des collectivités en bonne santé.

Environ 30 % des décès et 85 % des décès par cancer du poumon sont causés par le tabac. Des 444 municipalités de l’Ontario présentes au congrès, plus de 100 municipalités ont adoptés des règlements sur des environnements extérieurs sans fumée pour protéger la santé de leurs citoyens.

Woman in tanning bed

Le mélanome (cancer de la peau) est un des types de cancer de la peau les plus courants chez les jeunes Ontariens de 15 à 29 ans, et il est un des plus évitables.

« Le bronzage artificiel cause le cancer », dit Mme Stancu-Soare. « Nous avons travaillé sans relâche pour que nos représentants élus passent à l’action et appuient une interdiction d’utilisation de lits de bronzage pour les jeunes de moins de 18 ans. »

Des règlements sur le bronzage artificiel ont été adoptés dans la ville d’Oakville, la Région de Peel (qui inclut Brampton, Caledon et Mississauga) et la ville de Belleville.

Un sondage récent a indiqué que 96 % des Ontariens croient qu’ils ont le droit d’être informés sur les substances toxiques auxquelles ils sont exposés au travail. 92 % des Ontariens sont d’accord que les entreprises devraient réduire l’utilisation et la libération de substances potentiellement toxiques dans le sol, l’air et l’eau afin de créer un environnement plus sain et de protéger la population contre des dangers potentiels. Les lois provinciales et fédérales sur le signalement obligatoire s’appliquent seulement aux grandes entreprises. Des lois municipales sont nécessaires pour s’assurer que les substances toxiques utilisées dans les petites et moyennes entreprises fassent aussi l’objet d’un suivi et d’un rapport.

La Société croit que travailler avec le gouvernement et les législateurs pour implanter des politiques publiques favorisant la santé est une partie essentielle du combat contre le cancer.

La Société canadienne du cancer est un organisme bénévole national, à caractère communautaire, dont la mission est l'éradication du cancer et l'amélioration de la qualité de vie des personnes touchées par le cancer. Pour plus d’information sur le cancer, visitez notre site Web à www.cancer.ca ou téléphonez sans frais à notre Service d’information sur le cancer au 1-888-939-3333.



Renseignements :

Susan Fekete

Gestionnaire, Communications

Société canadienne du cancer

Téléphone : 613 565-2522 poste : 4985