Canadian Cancer Society applauds decision allowing British American Tobacco and other foreign companies to be held to account

19 December 2013

TORONTO -

The Supreme Court of Canada today refused to hear an appeal by foreign tobacco companies seeking to be removed as defendants in Ontario’s $50 billion medicare cost recovery lawsuit against the tobacco industry. The foreign companies were attempting to overturn a May 30, 2013, judgment of the Ontario Court of Appeal that had dismissed their motion to be removed from the lawsuit.

“This decision is significant in terms of a victory for the Ontario government and a defeat for the tobacco industry,” says Rob Cunningham, lawyer and Senior Policy Analyst, Canadian Cancer Society. “Foreign parent tobacco companies such as British American Tobacco must be held to account before the courts for their role in causing an epidemic of disease and death.”

“It is essential that these giant foreign parent tobacco companies be defendants,” adds Cunningham. “The companies have internal documents that provide valuable evidence of what tobacco companies knew regarding the effects of tobacco use on health, and when they knew it. The companies also have very deep pockets that would allow the Ontario Government to collect far more in damages than could be obtained from the Canadian subsidiaries alone.”

Today’s judgment continues a trend. Courts in British Columbia, Saskatchewan, Quebec and New Brunswick have also rejected attempts by foreign companies to be removed as defendants. In the British Columbia and New Brunswick cases, the Supreme Court of Canada also refused to hear appeals sought by the tobacco industry. In Saskatchewan, the Court of Queen’s Bench dismissed the tobacco industry motion. In Quebec, the Quebec Superior Court dismissed the tobacco industry motion, and the Quebec Court of Appeal refused to hear an appeal.

The main issue at stake in the medicare cost recovery lawsuit is if the tobacco industry will be held liable to pay damages for tobacco-related health care costs. A trial date for this lawsuit has not been set in Ontario or other provinces.

In addition to today’s legal victory, the government recently introduced Bill 131, which will ban flavoured tobacco products, require patios to be smoke-free, prohibit tobacco sales on university/college campuses, and implement other measures in Ontario.

“We applaud the Ontario Government not only for its ongoing medicare cost recovery lawsuit but also for bringing forward strengthened amendments to the Smoke-free Ontario Act,” says Rowena Pinto, VP, Public Affairs, Canadian Cancer Society, Ontario Division. “On the momentum of this important step forward on cost recovery, we urge all political parties to support adoption as soon as possible of this important bill to reduce youth smoking.”

The Canadian Cancer Society (CCS) is the only national charity that supports Canadians with all cancers in communities across the country. No other organization does what we do; we are the voice for Canadians who care about cancer. We fund groundbreaking research, provide a support system for all those affected by cancer and advocate to governments for important social change.

Help us make a difference. Call 1-888-939-3333 or visit cancer.ca today.

For more information, please contact:

Justin Edmonstone

Public Affairs

Canadian Cancer Society

Ontario Division

Phone: 416-323-7026

La Société canadienne du cancer applaudit la décision permettant à la British American Tobacco et à d’autres sociétés étrangères d’être tenues responsables

19 décembre 2013

Toronto -

La Cour suprême du Canada a refusé aujourd’hui d’entendre un appel par les sociétés étrangères du tabac désirant être supprimées comme défenderesses dans la poursuite de l’Ontario de 50 milliards de dollars pour le recouvrement des frais d’assurance-maladie contre l’industrie du tabac. Les sociétés étrangères essaient d’invalider un jugement du 30 mai 2013 de la Cour d’appel de l’Ontario qui avait rejeté leur requête d’être supprimées de la poursuite.

« Cette décision est importante en terme de victoire pour le gouvernement de l’Ontario et de défaite pour l’industrie du tabac », dit Rob Cunningham, avocat et analyste principal en matière de politiques, Société canadienne du cancer. « Les sociétés-mères étrangères du tabac comme la British American Tobacco doivent être tenues responsables devant les cours de leur rôle à causer une épidémie de maladie et de décès. »

« Il est essentiel que ces géantes sociétés-mères étrangères soient défenderesses », ajoute M. Cunningham. « Les sociétés possèdent des documents internes qui fournissent des preuves importantes de ce que les sociétés du tabac connaissaient à propos des effets de l’usage du tabac sur la santé, et quand ils en ont pris connaissance. Les sociétés sont aussi très riches, ce qui permettrait au gouvernement de l’Ontario d’obtenir beaucoup plus en dommages que ce qu’il pourrait obtenir des filiales canadiennes. »

La tendance se poursuit avec le jugement d’aujourd’hui. Les cours en Colombie-Britannique, en Saskatchewan, au Québec et au Nouveau-Brunswick ont également rejeté les tentatives par les sociétés étrangères d’être supprimées comme défenderesses. Dans des cas en Colombie-Britannique et au Nouveau-Brunswick, la Cour suprême du Canada a également refusé d’entendre l’appel de l’industrie du tabac. En Saskatchewan, la Cour du Banc de la Reine a rejeté la requête de l’industrie du tabac et la Cour d’appel du Québec a refusé d’entendre un appel.

La principale question en jeu dans la poursuite pour le recouvrement des frais d’assurance-maladie est de déterminer si l’industrie du tabac sera tenue responsable de payer des dommages pour les frais de soins de santé liés au tabac. Une date pour le procès de cette poursuite n’a pas été fixée en Ontario ni dans d’autres provinces.

En plus de la victoire juridique d’aujourd’hui, le gouvernement a récemment présenté le projet de loi 131, qui interdira les produits du tabac aromatisés, exigera que les terrasses soient sans fumée, interdira la vente de tabac sur les campus d’universités/de collèges et mettra en œuvre d’autres mesures en Ontario.

« Nous applaudissons le gouvernement de l’Ontario non seulement pour sa poursuite pour le recouvrement des frais d’assurance-maladie mais aussi pour avoir présenté des modifications renforcées pour la Loi favorisant un Ontario sans fumée », dit Rowena Pinto, vice-présidente, affaires publiques, Société canadienne du cancer, Division de l’Ontario. « Sur l’élan de ce pas important vers l’avant du recouvrement des frais, nous encourageons tous les partis politiques à appuyer l’adoption dès que possible de ce projet de loi important pour réduire le tabagisme chez les jeunes. »

La Société canadienne du cancer est un organisme bénévole national, à caractère communautaire, dont la mission est l'éradication du cancer et l'amélioration de la qualité de vie des personnes touchées par le cancer. Pour en savoir plus sur le cancer, visitez le www.cancer.ca ou appelez notre Service d'information sur le cancer, un service gratuit et bilingue, au 1-888-939-3333.

Renseignements :

Justin Edmonstone

Affaires publiques

Société canadienne du cancer

Division de l’Ontario

Téléphone : 416-323-7026