A A A


2012

Is Your Job Making You Sick?

November 2012 - A new study, funded by the Canadian Cancer Society, will examine the human and economic impact of workplace exposure to 44 known or suspected carcinogens and their links to 27 types of cancer. The study’s main goals are to quantify – for the first time – how serious the problem is in Canada by estimating the number of new cancer cases and cancer deaths that can be attributed to workplace factors, and also to weigh the economic impact.


Ontarians fear cancer above many other diseases, and more than one-quarter delay medical attention fearing what the doctor might find: Canadian Cancer Society encourages Ontarians to share their fears about cancer

November 2012 - Today, the Canadian Cancer Society officially launches The FearLess Project to help change the way Ontarians think about, talk about and deal with cancer. The project provides Ontarians with a place to share and acknowledge their fears as a first step to addressing them at www.thefearlessproject.ca.


Cutting through the breast cancer confusion: Canadian Cancer Society finds majority of Ontario women are still confused about breast cancer screening: Ipsos Reid poll

October 2012 - A recent Canadian Cancer Society Ipsos Reid poll found that the majority of Ontario women are confused about what age they should start screening for breast cancer and the best way to get screened.



Soon it will be "lights out" for Ontario's tanning teens

September 2012 - Canadian Cancer Society congratulates McGuinty government on plans to adopt NDP Private Member’s bill banning youth under 18 from indoor tanning


Canadian Cancer Society congratulates Oakville in leading the fight against skin cancer: City passes Ontario’s first by-law to protect youth against the dangers of indoor tanning

August 2012 - Late yesterday, Oakville Town Council took decisive action to protect the health of its youngest citizens by passing a by-law that restricts youth under 18 from accessing indoor tanning facilities.


Scientists create first ever 3-D “pancreas in a dish”: Microscopic 3-D model will allow researchers to see how pancreatic cancer develops

July 2012 - Scientists in Toronto have created a tiny, living 3-D organ model of pancreatic ducts to help them conduct research on pancreatic cancer – one of the deadliest and least understood of all cancers. This innovative 3-D organ model could lead to new ways to detect and treat pancreatic cancer, which has a very poor survival rate with only about 6% of patients surviving five years after diagnosis.


Women In Insurance Cancer Crusade (WICC) surpasses $5 million in donations to support life-saving cancer research

June 2012 - The Canadian Cancer Society is proud to acknowledge and celebrate the tremendous achievement of the Women in Insurance Cancer Crusade (WICC) who have raised over $5 million dollars for the Society to support lifesaving breast, prostate and general cancer research. In an industry where the largest portion of employees is women, WICC was founded as a passionate response to the number of women they worked with that were facing breast cancer. In 1996 they took action and starting modestly with candle sales, the women and men of WICC have mobilized the entire property and casualty insurance industry to fight back against cancer.


Canadian Cancer Society invests in promising cancer prevention research with contribution from Great-West Life, London Life and Canada Life

May 2012 - The Canadian Cancer Society welcomes a generous contribution from Great-West Life, London Life and Canada Life to support the promising cancer prevention research of a young scientist at the University of Manitoba.


Canadian cancer death rate down: Lower smoking rates, better screening and treatment account for drop, but much more needs to be done to tackle leading cause of death in Canada

May 2012 - The cancer death rate in Canada is going down, resulting in nearly 100,000 lives saved over the last 20 years (1988 to 2007). Despite the drop in the death rate, cancer is still the leading cause of death in Canada. Canadian Cancer Statistics 2012 was released today by the Canadian Cancer Society, in collaboration with the Public Health Agency of Canada and Statistics Canada.


Backgrounder: Exposing the secret lives of tanning teens in Ontario

April 2012 - Indoor tanning causes skin cancer. TheCanadian Cancer Society is calling on the Government of Ontario to support the new Private Members’ bill that restricts youth under 18 year of age from using indoor tanning equipment.


Exposing the secret lives of tanning teens in Ontario: Ipsos Reid poll results have Canadian Cancer Society renewing call for ban on indoor tanning for youth under 18

April 2012 - A rare snapshot of teen behaviour was released today by the Canadian Cancer Society. The poll sheds light on why Ontario teens tan, how often, and the reasons they start using indoor tanning equipment.


Candy is not dandy when it comes to tobacco products

April 2012 - The Heart and Stroke Foundation and the Canadian Cancer Society, Ontario Division applaud the introduction of legislation to eliminate the sale of flavoured tobacco products.


Youth volunteers today, community leaders tomorrow: Canadian Cancer Society celebrates National Volunteer Week

April 2012 - Thanks to the generosity of a woman who lost her husband to cancer, the Canadian Cancer Society, for the first time, is awarding up to two annual youth volunteer scholarships.


April is Canadian Cancer Society’s Daffodil Month: Wear a Daffodil Pin to show support for people living with cancer

March 2012 - Every three minutes, another Canadian will hear the words “you have cancer” for the first time, and the Canadian Cancer Society wants them to know that they are not alone.


Ontario budget: Canadian Cancer Society pleased with some measures and looks to further government action on prevention and help for patients

March 2012 - The Canadian Cancer Society is pleased with the Ontario government’s commitment to cancer prevention through increased enforcement to control illegal contraband tobacco, an expansion of screening programs and a goal to reduce childhood obesity and is looking to further action on indoor tanning, cancer drug shortages and environmental exposure.


Canadian Cancer Society applauds BC for protecting youth from indoor tanning; urges Ontario government to take action

March 2012 - The Canadian Cancer Society applauds British Columbia for its plans to introduce regulations preventing young people from using indoor tanning.


Could “Feeding” Cancer Stop It From Spreading? Canadian Cancer Society Gives Green Light to Innovative Research Ideas

February 2012 - A London, Ontario, cardiologist is turning cancer research on its head by proposing that increasing the blood supply to a tumour (in effect, feeding the tumour) could actually prevent cancer from spreading to other parts of the body. Previous research had suggested a more intuitive route – that starving a tumour of its blood supply could prevent it from spreading, however that method (known as anti-angiogenesis) has shown limited success to date.


Canada's most prominent health organizations call on the Ontario government to invest now to prevent Ontario's looming health crisis

January 2012 - Ontario is facing an urgent health care crisis with a staggering financial and human cost. The tragedy is that it is preventable but not enough is being done. That’s the message sent today by the Heart and Stroke Foundation, Ontario, Canadian Cancer Society, Ontario Division, Ophea, and other members of the Ontario Chronic Disease Prevention Alliance (OCDPA) to the Ontario government as they launch Better Health is Worth 0.5%.


Canadian Cancer Society announces new Health Canada-funded smoking cessation campaign aimed at young adults

January 2012 - The Canadian Cancer Society has launched Break It Off — a new digital campaign funded by Health Canada to promote tobacco cessation. Led by the Society’s free cessation service — Smokers’ Helpline — the campaign is aimed at young adults, age 19-29, who have the highest smoking rate in the country.


Canadian Cancer Society’s Top 10 Breakthroughs of 2011: Society funded teams are changing the landscape of cancer research

January 2012 - The Canadian Cancer Society is proud to announce its top 10 breakthroughs of 2011. This list of accomplishments showcases how researchers funded by the Society continue to lead the way in advances that will reduce the number of Canadians diagnosed with and dying from cancer, and improve the quality of life for people living with and beyond cancer. Due to progress in cancer research, over 60 per cent of Canadians diagnosed with cancer will survive, compared with only 25 per cent when the Society began funding research in the 1940s.

A A A



2012

Votre travail rend-il malade?

novembre 2012 - Une nouvelle étude, financée par la Société canadienne du cancer, se penchera sur les conséquences humaines et économiques de l’exposition professionnelle à 44 carcinogènes connus ou présumés et sur leur lien avec 27 types de cancer.


Les Ontariens ont peur du cancer plus que de toute autre maladie et plus d’un quart retarde de consulter un médecin car ils ont peur de ce qu’il pourrait découvrir : La Société canadienne du cancer encourage les Ontariens à partager leurs craintes à propos du cancer

novembre 2012 - Aujourd’hui, la Société canadienne du cancer lance officiellement le Projet « FearLess » pour aider à changer la façon dont les Ontariens pensent au cancer, en parlent et l’affrontent. Le projet offre aux Ontariens un endroit où partager et reconnaître leurs craintes en faisant le premier pas pour les affronter à www.thefearlessproject.ca.


Démystifier la confusion sur le cancer du sein - La Société canadienne du cancer apprend que la majorité des Ontariennes ne savent toujours pas à quoi s’en tenir à propos du dépistage du cancer du sein – sondage Ipsos Reid

octobre 2012 - Un récent sondage Ipsos Reid pour la Société canadienne du cancer a découvert que la majorité des Ontariennes ne savent pas à quoi s’en tenir relativement à l’âge où elles devraient commencer le dépistage du cancer du sein et à la meilleure façon de le faire.


La Société canadienne du cancer applaudit la Région de Peel qui interdit aux jeunes d’utiliser de l’équipement de bronzage artificiel

septembre 2012 - Hier, la Région de Peel a adopté le règlement municipal le plus strict de la province, interdisant aux jeunes de moins de 18 and de fréquenter les salons de bronzage et imposant des amandes élevées aux propriétaires de salons qui ne respectent pas le règlement.


Les ados se verront bientôt refuser accès au bronzage artificiel

septembre 2012 - La Société canadienne du cancer félicite le gouvernement McGuinty qui prévoit adopter le projet de loi émanant d’une députée NDP interdisant aux jeunes de moins de 18 ans d’utiliser de l’équipement de bronzage artificiel.


La Société canadienne du cancer félicite Oakville qui mène la lutte contre le cancer de la peau : la ville adopte le premier règlement en Ontario visant à protéger les jeunes contre les dangers du bronzage artificiel

août 2012 - Tard hier, le conseil municipal d’Oakville est passé à l’action pour protéger la santé de ses jeunes citoyens en adoptant un règlement qui interdit aux jeunes de moins de 18 ans de fréquenter les salons de bronzage.


Des scientifiques créent le tout premier « pancréas en boîte » en 3D : Un modèle microscopique en 3D permettra aux chercheurs de voir comment le cancer du pancréas se développe

juillet 2012 - Des scientifiques de Toronto ont créé un modèle d’organe minuscule, vivant et en trois dimensions reproduisant les canaux pancréatiques. Ce modèle innovateur les aidera dans leurs recherches sur le cancer du pancréas, l’un des plus meurtriers et des moins compris. Il pourrait ouvrir la voie à de nouvelles manières de détecter et de traiter le cancer du pancréas, dont le taux de survie est très faible. En effet, environ seulement 6 % des patients survivent cinq ans après leur diagnostic.


Women in Insurance Cancer Crusade (WICC) dépasse les 5 millions de dollars en dons pour appuyer la recherche vitale sur le cancer

juin 2012 - La Société canadienne du cancer est fière de reconnaître et de célébrer le franc succès de Women in Insurance Cancer Crusade (WICC) qui a recueilli plus de 5 millions de dollars pour la Société au profit de la recherche sur le cancer du sein, de la prostate et du cancer en général.


La Société canadienne du cancer investit dans un projet de recherche prometteur sur la prévention du cancer grâce à une contribution de la Great-West, la London Life et la Canada-Vie

mai 2012 - La Société canadienne du cancer est heureuse de bénéficier d’une généreuse contribution de la Great-West, la London Life et la Canada-Vie pour appuyer le projet de recherche prometteur sur la prévention du cancer d’un jeune scientifique à l’Université du Manitoba.


Baisse du taux de mortalité par cancer au Canada : Le recul du tabagisme ainsi que l’amélioration du dépistage et des traitements expliquent cette diminution, mais le combat est loin d’être gagné : le cancer demeure la principale cause de mortalité au Canada

mai 2012 - Le taux de mortalité par cancer est à la baisse au Canada, si bien que près de 100 000 vies ont été sauvées en 20 ans (de 1988 à 2007). Toutefois, malgré ce recul, le cancer demeure la principale cause de décès au pays. C’est ce que nous apprennent les Statistiques canadiennes sur le cancer 2012, que la Société canadienne du cancer fait paraître aujourd’hui, en collaboration avec l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada et Statistique Canada.



La vie secrète des jeunes Ontariens face au bronzage : Les résultats d’un sondage Ipsos Reid poussent la Société canadienne du cancer à renouveler son appel pour interdire le bronzage artificiel aux jeunes de moins de 18 ans

avril 2012 - Un rare aperçu du comportement des jeunes a été publié aujourd’hui par la Société canadienne du cancer. Le sondage fait la lumière sur les raisons qui poussent les jeunes ontariens à se faire bronzer, la fréquence et les raisons pour lesquelles ils commencent à utiliser de l’équipement de bronzage artificiel.


Les bonbons et les produits du tabac ne vont pas de pair

avril 2012 - La Fondation des maladies du cœur et la Société canadienne du cancer applaudissent la présentation d’un projet de loi visant à éliminer la vente de produits du tabac aromatisés.


Jeunes bénévoles aujourd’hui, leaders demain : La Société canadienne du cancer célèbre la Semaine nationale de l’action bénévole

avril 2012 - Grâce à la générosité d’une femme qui a perdu son mari suite à un cancer, la Société canadienne du cancer remettra pour la première fois deux bourses d’études annuelles à des jeunes bénévoles.


Avril est le Mois de la jonquille de la Société canadienne du cancer : Portez une épinglette jonquille pour manifester votre appui aux personnes touchées par le cancer

mars 2012 - Toutes les trois minutes, un Canadien de plus entendra pour la première fois les quatre mots : « Vous avez un cancer. » La Société canadienne du cancer tient à ce qu’ils sachent qu’ils ne sont pas seuls.


Budget de l’Ontario : La Société canadienne du cancer accueille favorablement certaines mesures et espère que le gouvernement se concentrera davantage sur la prévention et le soutien aux patients

mars 2012 - La Société canadienne du cancer accueille favorablement l’engagement du gouvernement de l’Ontario envers la prévention du cancer par le biais d’une meilleure surveillance policière pour contrôler le tabac de contrebande, du développement de programmes de dépistage et d’un objectif de réduction de l’obésité chez les enfants et espère que le gouvernement passera à l’action sur le bronzage artificiel, l’accès amélioré aux médicaments anticancéreux et l’exposition dans l’environnement.


La Société canadienne du cancer applaudit la C.-B. qui protège les jeunes contre le bronzage artificiel et elle encourage le gouvernement ontarien à passer à l’action

mars 2012 - La Société canadienne du cancer applaudit la Colombie-Britannique suite à l’annonce de son plan visant à présenter des règlements empêchant les jeunes d’utiliser le bronzage artificiel.


Est-ce que « nourrir » un cancer pourrait empêcher sa propagation? La Société canadienne du cancer donne le feu vert à des idées de recherche novatrices

février 2012 - Est-ce que « nourrir » un cancer pourrait empêcher sa propagation? La Société canadienne du cancer donne le feu vert à des idées de recherche novatrices


Les organismes de santé les plus importants au Canada lancent une campagne pour demander au gouvernement de l’Ontario d’investir maintenant afin de prévenir la crise imminente dans le domaine des soins de santé

janvier 2012 - L’Ontario affronte une urgente crise dans le domaine des soins de santé incluant des coûts financiers et humains exorbitants. Ce qui est tragique est qu’elle est évitable mais que l’on ne fait pas assez pour y parvenir. C’est le message transmis aujourd’hui par la Fondation des maladies du cœur de l’Ontario, la Société canadienne du cancer, Division de l’Ontario, l’Ophea et les autres membres de l’Alliance pour la prévention des maladies chroniques en Ontario (APMCO) au gouvernement de l’Ontario lors du lancement de Better Health is Worth 0.5% (Une meilleure santé vaut 0,5 %).


La Société canadienne du cancer annonce une nouvelle campagne d’abandon du tabac financée par Santé Canada ciblant les jeunes adultes

janvier 2012 - La Société canadienne du cancer a lancé Break It Off, une nouvelle campagne numérique financée par Santé Canada pour promouvoir l’abandon du tabac. Dirigée par le service gratuit de la Société, Téléassistance pour fumeurs, la campagne cible les jeunes adultes, âgés de 19 à 29 ans, qui ont le taux de tabagisme le plus élevé au pays.


Palmarès des 10 projets de recherche de la Société canadienne du cancer les plus en vue en 2011 : Des équipes de chercheurs financées par la Société modifient le paysage de la recherche sur le cancer

janvier 2012 - La Société canadienne du cancer est fière d’annoncer les 10 projets de recherche les plus en vue en 2011. Cette liste de réalisations démontre comment les chercheurs financés par la Société continuent de mener la voie par des découvertes qui réduiront le nombre de Canadiens recevant un diagnostic de cancer et décédant suite à un cancer, et qui amélioreront la qualité de vie des personnes vivant avec le cancer et au-delà du cancer. Grâce aux progrès effectués dans la recherche sur le cancer, plus de 60 % des Canadiens recevant un diagnostic de cancer survivront, comparativement à seulement 25 % lorsque la Société a commencé à financer la recherche dans les années 1940.