A A A

Canadian Cancer Statistics 2014

27 May 2014

New Brunswick -

Skin cancer is the most commonly diagnosed cancer and malignant melanoma is one of the fastest rising of all cancers in Canada, according to a special report in the Canadian Cancer Statistics 2014, released today by the Canadian Cancer Society in partnership with the Public Health Agency of Canada and Statistics Canada.

While the rate of new cases and deaths for many types of cancer are going down in Canada, the report, which examined melanoma rates since 1986, reveals that melanoma has been increasing significantly in both men and women. In men, the incidence rate increased 2% per year between 1986 and 2010 and in women, 1.5% per year. The death rate has increased by 1.2% per year in men and by 0.4% for women.

Compared to the rest of Canada, New Brunswick’s incidence rates for melanoma are higher than average.

“The increase in incidence and mortality for melanoma is cause for concern, particularly because skin cancers are among the most preventable,” said Anne McTiernan-Gamble, CEO of the Canadian Cancer Society New Brunswick. “It’s important to understand the impact of skin cancer so that we can take steps to reverse this upward trend.”

This year, an estimated 6,500 new cases of melanoma and 76,100 cases of non-melanoma skin cancers are expected to be diagnosed in Canada. About 1,050 Canadians are expected to die from melanoma this year. In New Brunswick, approximately 175 New Brunswickers will be diagnosed with melanoma and an estimated 25 New Brunswickers will die from the disease.

Risk factors

The main risk factor for skin cancer is UV radiation from overexposure to the sun and other sources, such as indoor tanning beds. The Government of New Brunswick passed legislation last year banning tanning salon operators from allowing youth under 19 to use tanning equipment. The legislation also restricted the tanning bed industry from marketing to youth.

“While these are important measures toward reducing the impact of skin cancers in New Brunswick, we need take additional steps to further reduce incidence rates,” Ms. McTiernan-Gamble said. “We need to encourage people of all ages to practice sun-safe behaviour and restrict tanning bed use.”

General highlights – Canadian Cancer Statistics 2014

  • Cancer continues to be the leading cause of death in Canada.
  • Over the past 30 years, the death rate for all cancers combined has been declining for men and women in most age groups.
  • The 5-year relative survival rate for all cancers combined in 2006–2008 was 63%, an improvement over the survival rate of 56% in 1992–1994.
  • An estimated 5,000 new cases of cancer (not including non-melanoma skin cancer) and 1,940 deaths from cancer are expected to occur in New Brunswick in 2014.
  • Four types of cancer – lung, breast, colorectal and prostate – account for 52% of newly diagnosed cancers.

Canadian Cancer Statistics 2014 was prepared through a partnership of the Canadian Cancer Society, the Public Health Agency of Canada, Statistics Canada and provincial and territorial cancer registries. For more information about Canadian Cancer Statistics 2014, visit cancer.ca.

The Canadian Cancer Society is a national, community-based organization of volunteers whose mission is to eradicate cancer and enhance the quality of life of people living with cancer. Thanks to our donors and volunteers, the Society has the most impact, against the most cancers, in the most communities in Canada. Building on our progress, we are working with Canadians to change cancer forever. For more information, visit cancer.ca or call our toll-free bilingual Cancer Information Service at 1-888-939-3333 (TTY 1-866-786-3934).

For more information, please contact:

Paula White

Manager, Communications, CCSNB

Phone: (506) 634-6040

A A A

Statistiques canadiennes sur le cancer 2014

27 mai 2014

Nouveau-Brunswick -

Selon les Statistiques canadiennes sur le cancer 2014 publiées aujourd’hui par la Société canadienne du cancer en collaboration avec l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada et Statistique Canada, le cancer de la peau est le plus fréquent et le mélanome malin est l’un des cancers qui progressent le plus rapidement au Canada.

 

Alors que les taux de nouveaux cas (incidence) et de mortalité de nombreux types de cancer sont à la baisse au Canada, le rapport, qui recense le taux de mélanomes depuis 1986, révèle que ce cancer a connu une progression appréciable tant chez les hommes que chez les femmes. Chez les hommes, le taux d’incidence a augmenté de 2 % par année et chez les femmes, de 1,5 % par année de 1986 à 2010. Le taux de mortalité a augmenté de 1,2 % chez les hommes et de 0,4 % chez les femmes.

 

Comparativement à la moyenne nationale, le taux d’incidence du mélanome est supérieur au Nouveau-Brunswick.

 

« L’augmentation du nombre de cas de mélanomes et du taux de mortalité qui y est lié est préoccupante, d’autant plus que les cancers de la peau sont parmi les plus faciles à éviter, affirme Anne McTiernan‑Gamble, chef de la direction de la Société canadienne du cancer Nouveau-Brunswick. Comprendre les conséquences du cancer de la peau est important si on veut prendre les mesures nécessaires pour inverser la tendance à la hausse. »

 

Cette année, environ 6 500 nouveaux cas de mélanomes et quelques 76 100 cas de cancers autres que le mélanome seront diagnostiqués au Canada. Environ 1 050 Canadiens mourront d’un mélanome cette année. Au Nouveau-Brunswick, environ 175 personnes recevront un diagnostic de mélanome et environ 25 Néobrunswickois en mourront.

 

Facteurs de risque

Le principal facteur de risque du cancer de la peau est la surexposition aux rayons UV du soleil ou d’autres sources, par exemple les lits de bronzage. L’an dernier, le gouvernement du Nouveau-Brunswick a adopté une loi interdisant l’utilisation des appareils de bronzage aux jeunes de moins de 19 ans. La loi empêchait également l’industrie du bronzage artificiel de faire de la publicité auprès des jeunes.

 

« Ces mesures sont importantes pour réduire la portée des cancers de la peau au Nouveau-Brunswick, déclare Mme McTiernan-Gamble, mais nous devons prendre des mesures supplémentaires pour réduire encore plus le taux d’incidence. Nous devons encourager les personnes de tous les âges à faire preuve de bon sens sous le soleil et à limiter l’utilisation des lits de bronzage. »

 

Points saillants – Statistiques canadiennes sur le cancer 2014

  • Le cancer demeure la première cause de mortalité au Canada.
  • Depuis les 30 dernières années, le taux de mortalité de tous les cancers confondus est à la baisse chez les hommes et les femmes dans la plupart des groupes d’âge.
  • Le taux de survie relative à cinq ans, rectifié selon l’âge, de tous les cancers confondus était de 63 % pour la période 2006‑2008, soit une amélioration par rapport au taux de 56 % enregistré pour la période 1992‑1994.
  • On estime qu’il y aura 5 000 nouveaux cas de cancer (exclusion faite du cancer de la peau autre que le mélanome) et 1940 décès causés par le cancer au Nouveau-Brunswick en 2014.
  • Au total, 52 % des cas nouvellement diagnostiqués seront des cancers de quatre types, à savoir poumon, sein, prostate et colorectal. 

Le rapport des Statistiques canadiennes sur le cancer 2014 est préparé grâce à la collaboration de la Société canadienne du cancer, de l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada, de Statistique Canada ainsi que des registres du cancer provinciaux et territoriaux. Pour en savoir plus sur les Statistiques canadiennes sur le cancer 2014, visitez cancer.ca.

La Société canadienne du cancer est un organisme bénévole national, à caractère communautaire, dont la mission est l’éradication du cancer et l’amélioration de la qualité de vie des personnes touchées par le cancer. Grâce à nos donateurs et à nos bénévoles, la Société est l’organisme qui a le plus d’impact, sur le plus de cancers, dans le plus de collectivités au Canada. Forts des progrès réalisés, nous travaillons avec les Canadiens afin de changer le cancer pour toujours. Pour plus d’information, visitez cancer.ca ou appelez sans frais notre Service bilingue d’information sur le cancer au 1 888 939‑3333 (ATS 1 866 786‑3934).

Renseignements :

Paula White

Manager, Communications, CCSNB

Téléphone : (506) 634-6040