Canadian Cancer Trials Group receives $8.7 million from the Canada Foundation for Innovation

12 January 2017

Toronto -

Earlier this week the Canadian Cancer Trials Group (CCTG) received a five year, $8.68 million grant from the Canada Foundation for Innovation under the Major Science Initiatives Fund. This funding will support CCTG’s Operations and Statistics Centre at Queen’s University in Kingston.

“We are honoured that the quality and scope of the work undertaken by CCTG has been recognized by the Canada Foundation for Innovation,” says Dr. Janet Dancey, Director of CCTG. “This significant grant will help us continue our ground-breaking national and international research, leading to better treatments and improved outcomes for people with cancer.”

CCTG is a cancer research cooperative that provides the expertise and infrastructure for researchers to conduct national and international phase I-III cancer clinical trials. As one of the national programs of the Canadian Cancer Society, CCTG has supported over 500 trials in over 40 countries aimed at improving survival rates and quality of life for cancer patients around the world.

The Major Science Initiatives (MSI) fund supports ongoing operations and maintenance costs for a select group of national research facilities – facilities which address the needs of a key community of Canadian researchers and which contribute to Canada’s reputation as a global leader in research and innovation.

“Through the MSI program, the Government of Canada clearly recognizes the importance of sustaining key research platforms and supporting large-scale collaborations that are conducting leading-edge research with global impact,” says Steven Liss, Queen’s University-Vice-Principal (Research).

On Monday, the Honourable Kirsty Duncan, Minister of Science, announced an investment of a total of $328.5 million to ensure the optimal performance of 17 national research facilities led by 12 universities across the country.

About the Canada Foundation for Innovation
Created in 1997, the Canada Foundation for Innovation makes financial contributions to Canada’s universities, colleges, research hospitals and non-profit research organizations to increase their capability to carry out high quality research. The foundation awards funding through a rigorous competitive and independent merit-review process. Funding is awarded based on the quality of the research proposed and its need for infrastructure, its contribution to strengthening the capacity for innovation and the potential benefits of the research to Canada.

For more information on the Canada Foundation for Innovation, or the Major Science Initiatives Fund, please visit their website.

About the Canadian Cancer Trials Group
The Canadian Cancer Trials Group (CCTG) is a cancer clinical trials research cooperative that runs phase I-III trials to test anti-cancer and supportive therapies in 80 institutions across Canada and internationally. CCTG is one of the national programs of the Canadian Cancer Society Research Institute (CCSRI), and is supported by the Canadian Cancer Society (CCS). From its centre at Queen’s University in Kingston, Ontario, CCTG has supported over 500 trials in over 40 countries, aimed at improving survival rates and quality of life for cancer patients.

About the Canadian Cancer Society
The Canadian Cancer Society funds the best cancer research in Canada thanks to our generous donors and our rigorous peer-review process. We are the largest national charitable funder of cancer research in Canada, funding hundreds of researchers in universities, hospitals and research centres. For more information, visit cancer.ca or call our toll-free bilingual Cancer Information Service at 1-888-939-3333 (TTY 1-866-786-3934).

The Canadian Cancer Society is a national community-based organization of volunteers whose mission is the eradication of cancer and the enhancement of the quality of life of people living with cancer. When you want to know more about cancer, visit our website www.cancer.ca or call our toll-free, bilingual Cancer Information Service at 1 888 939-3333.

For more information, please contact:

Rosie Hales

Communications Specialist

Canadian Cancer Society

National office

Phone: 416 934-5338

Le Groupe canadien des essais sur le cancer reçoit 8,7 millions de dollars de la part de la Fondation canadienne pour l’innovation

13 janvier 2017

Toronto -

Plus tôt cette semaine, le Groupe canadien des essais sur le cancer a reçu une subvention d’un montant de 8,68 millions de dollars sur cinq ans de la part de la Fondation canadienne pour l’innovation, dans le cadre du Fonds des initiatives scientifiques majeures. Ce financement permettra d’appuyer les activités du Bureau central des Opérations et des statistiques du GCEC, situé à l’Université Queen’s, à Kingston, en Ontario.

« Nous sommes très honorés que la qualité et les champs d’activité des travaux entrepris par le GCEC aient été reconnus par la Fondation canadienne pour l’innovation, a déclaré la Dre Janet Dancey, directrice générale du GCEC. Cette importante subvention nous aidera à poursuivre nos travaux de recherche innovateurs tant au Canada qu’à l’échelle internationale, ce qui favorisera la découverte de traitements plus efficaces et une meilleure issue de la maladie pour les patients qui sont atteints d’un cancer. »

Le GCEC est une coopérative de recherche sur le cancer, qui fournit une expertise et des infrastructures aux chercheurs pour qu’ils puissent effectuer des essais cliniques des phases I à III au Canada et à l’étranger. En tant que l’un des programmes nationaux de la Société canadienne du cancer, le GCEC a appuyé plus de 500 essais cliniques dans plus de 40 pays, en vue d’améliorer le taux de survie et la qualité de vie des personnes atteintes de cancer partout dans le monde.

Le Fonds des initiatives scientifiques majeures finance les coûts d’exploitation et de maintenance d’un groupe d’installations de recherche nationales sélectionnées, qui répondent au besoin d’une communauté de chercheurs canadiens de premier plan, et qui contribuent à la réputation du Canada sur la scène internationale à titre de chef de file mondial en matière de recherche et d’innovation.

« Par l’intermédiaire du Fonds des initiatives scientifiques majeures, le gouvernement du Canada reconnaît clairement l’importance de soutenir certaines plateformes clés dans le domaine de la recherche, et d’appuyer les ententes de collaboration à grande échelle qui favorisent la recherche de premier plan ayant un impact international », a pour sa part déclaré Steven Liss, vice-recteur à la recherche de l’Université Queen’s.

Ce lundi, l’honorable Kirsty Duncan, ministre des Sciences, a annoncé un investissement total de 328,5 millions de dollars afin de favoriser le rendement optimal de 17 installations de recherche nationales supervisées par 12 universités à l’échelle du pays.

À propos de la Fondation canadienne pour l’innovation

Créée en 1997, la Fondation canadienne pour l’innovation (FCI) verse des contributions financières aux universités, aux collèges, aux hôpitaux de recherche et aux organismes de recherche sans but lucratif du Canada pour leur permettre d’accroître leur capacité à mener des activités de recherche de grande qualité. La Fondation choisit les organismes auxquels elle accordera un financement en s’appuyant sur un processus d’évaluation au mérite indépendant, rigoureux et compétitif. Le financement est accordé en tenant compte de la qualité de la recherche proposée et de son besoin en infrastructure, de sa contribution à renforcer la capacité à l’innovation, et de ses avantages potentiels pour le Canada.

Pour de plus amples renseignements au sujet de la Fondation canadienne pour l’innovation ou du Fonds des initiatives scientifiques majeures, n’hésitez pas à visiter leurs sites Web respectifs.

À propos du Groupe canadien des essais sur le cancer

Le Groupe canadien des essais sur le cancer est une coopérative de recherche spécialisée dans les essais cliniques sur le traitement du cancer, qui effectue des essais cliniques des phases I à III dans plus de 80 établissements au Canada et à l’étranger, afin de mettre à l’épreuve les traitements anticancer et les soins de soutien. Il s’agit de l’un des programmes nationaux de l’Institut de recherche de la Société canadienne du cancer (IRSCC), qui a l’appui de la Société canadienne du cancer (SCC). Depuis son centre de recherche de l’Université Queen’s, à Kingston, en Ontario, le GCEC a appuyé plus de 500 essais cliniques dans plus de 40 pays, en vue d’améliorer le taux de survie et la qualité de vie des patients du cancer.

À propos de la Société canadienne du cancer

La Société canadienne du cancer finance la meilleure recherche sur le cancer au Canada, grâce à nos généreux donateurs et à notre rigoureux processus d’examen par les pairs. Nous sommes l’organisme de bienfaisance national qui investit le plus dans la recherche sur le cancer au Canada, subventionnant chaque année le travail de centaines de chercheurs dans les universités, les hôpitaux et les centres de recherche. Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, visitez cancer.ca ou appelez notre Service d’information sur le cancer, un service d’information bilingue et gratuit, au 1 888 939-3333 (ATS : 1 866 786-3934).

Renseignements :

Rosie Hales

Spécialiste des communications

Société canadienne du cancer

bureau national

Téléphone : 416 934-5338