A A A

Society calls on government to adopt nationwide ban on all asbestos products

27 March 2016

Ottawa -

The Canadian Cancer Society is calling on the federal government to adopt a nationwide ban on all asbestos products.

Asbestos exposure is Canada’s leading cause of workplace death, and only through strong national action can Canadians be protected. Accordingly, the Canadian Cancer Society is calling on the federal government to ban the manufacture, use, import and export of asbestos and asbestos-containing materials and products.

Canada must catch up with the more than 50 countries worldwide that have banned the use of all forms of asbestos, including Australia, France, Germany and the United Kingdom, most of whom implemented bans decades ago. The World Health Organization has declared that ‘the most efficient way to eliminate asbestos-related diseases is to stop the use of all types of asbestos.’

In addition, we urge the government to partner with provinces and territories to implement a comprehensive asbestos reduction strategy that:

  • Sets a clear schedule for legislating and implementing a ban on all new asbestos products
  • Requires mandatory reporting of public buildings containing asbestos and establishes federal and provincial building registries
  • Establishes a national surveillance system to track health outcomes of people already exposed to asbestos and all asbestos-related disease in Canada
  • Engages and supports communities, business, and workers affected by an asbestos ban
  • Strengthens workplace safety legislation
  • Supports the addition of chrysotile asbestos to Annex III of the Rotterdam Convention
  • Actively increases awareness and education of harms of asbestos exposure

Despite the closing of Canada’s last asbestos mine in 2012, over 150,000 Canadian workers are still exposed to asbestos today. Workers compensation claims for occupational cancer have surpassed those of traumatic injuries and diseases, with the majority of occupational cancers being attributable to asbestos exposure.

Worldwide an estimated 107,000 people died from asbestos-related diseases each year. The International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC) classified all forms of asbestos as carcinogenic to humans in 1987 and reaffirmed this classification in 2009. It is the leading cause of mesothelioma and also causes lung, laryngeal and ovarian cancers. Studies show that asbestos may also increase the risk of pharyngeal, stomach and colorectal cancers. In addition to cancer, exposure to asbestos causes asbestosis, a severe and debilitating condition due to lung-tissue scarring.

By banning new products and future use we can ensure that exposure will decrease with time. However it will not eliminate all exposure. Asbestos is unfortunately already built into many homes, offices, and public buildings as a result of past use. Its complete removal will take many years, emphasizing the need for building registries and other policies to keep Canadians, including those who are exposed to asbestos at work, safe.

With Canada facing a projected 40% increase in new cancer cases over the next 15 years, cancer prevention must be a national priority. The federal government has a responsibility to protect the health and safety of all Canadians, and, as much as possible, to reduce our exposure to harmful substances. It’s time for the government to fulfill that responsibility and demonstrate the leadership to protect Canadians from asbestos.

For information, please contact:

Gabriel Miller

Director, Public Issues, National office

Tel: 613-852-5404

The Canadian Cancer Society is a national community-based organization of volunteers whose mission is the eradication of cancer and the enhancement of the quality of life of people living with cancer. When you want to know more about cancer, visit our website www.cancer.ca or call our toll-free, bilingual Cancer Information Service at 1 888 939-3333.

A A A

Déclaration de la Société canadienne du cancer sur l’amiante

27 mars 2016

Ottawa -

La Société canadienne du cancer demande au gouvernement fédéral d’adopter une loi visant à interdire tous les produits de l’amiante dans l’ensemble du pays.

L’exposition à l’amiante est la première cause de décès en milieu de travail au Canada, et seules des mesures nationales énergiques permettront de protéger les Canadiens. Par conséquent, la Société canadienne du cancer demande au gouvernement fédéral d’interdire la fabrication, l’utilisation, l’importation et l’exportation d’amiante et de matériaux et produits contenant de l’amiante.

Le Canada doit emboîter le pas des plus de 50 pays qui interdisent toutes les formes d’amiante, dont l’Australie, la France, l’Allemagne et le Royaume-Uni, et qui, pour la plupart, ont légiféré en ce sens il y a des dizaines d’années. Pour l’Organisation mondiale de la Santé, « le moyen le plus efficace d’éliminer les maladies liées à l’amiante est de cesser d’utiliser ce matériau, sous quelque forme que ce soit. »

De plus, la Société presse le gouvernement de collaborer avec les provinces et territoires pour mettre en place une stratégie globale de réduction de l’amiante qui :

  • définit un échéancier clair pour l’adoption d’une loi et la mise en œuvre de l’interdiction de tous les nouveaux produits de l’amiante;
  • prévoit la déclaration obligatoire des immeubles publics contenant de l’amiante et la création de registres des immeubles fédéraux et provinciaux;
  • établit un système de surveillance nationale permettant de suivre l’état de santé des personnes déjà exposées à l’amiante et tous les cas de maladies liées à l’amiante au Canada;
  • mobilise et soutient les collectivités, entreprises et travailleurs touchés par une interdiction de l’amiante;
  • renforce la législation sur la sécurité en milieu de travail;
  • appuie l’ajout de l’amiante chrysotile à l’Annexe III de la Convention de Rotterdam;
  • intensifie activement la sensibilisation et l’éducation sur les dangers de l’exposition à l’amiante.
  • Malgré la fermeture de la dernière mine d’amiante du Canada en 2012, plus que 150 000 travailleurs canadiens sont encore exposés à l’amiante aujourd’hui. Les demandes d’indemnisation sont maintenant plus nombreuses pour les cancers professionnels que pour les blessures traumatiques et les maladies professionnelles; la majorité des cancers professionnels sont dus à une exposition à l’amiante.

Dans le monde, on estime que 107 000 personnes par année meurent d’une maladie liée à l’amiante. Le Centre International de Recherche sur le Cancer (CIRC) a classé toutes les formes d’amiante comme des substances carcinogènes connues pour l’être humain en 1987, et a confirmé cette classification en 2009. L’amiante est la première cause de mésothéliome,et est aussi à l’origine de cancers du poumon, du larynx et de l’ovaire. Des études montrent que l’amiante pourrait également augmenter le risque de cancers du pharynx, de l’estomac et colorectal. En plus du cancer, l’exposition à l’amiante cause l’amiantose, une maladie grave et invalidante parce qu’elle entraîne une fibrose des tissus pulmonaires.

En interdisant les nouveaux produits et l’utilisation future, nous pouvons faire en sorte que l’exposition diminue avec le temps. Cependant, l’exposition ne sera pas éliminée totalement. En raison de son utilisation antérieure, l’amiante est malheureusement déjà présent dans une multitude de maisons, bureaux et édifices publics. Son élimination complète prendra des années, d’où le besoin d’élaborer des registres de bâtiments et d’autres politiques pour assurer la sécurité des Canadiens, y compris ceux qui sont exposés à l’amiante dans le cadre de leur travail.

Alors qu’une hausse de 40 % du nombre de nouveaux cas de cancer est attendue au Canada d’ici 15 ans, la prévention du cancer doit être une priorité nationale. Le gouvernement fédéral a la responsabilité de protéger la santé et la sécurité de tous les Canadiens et, autant que possible, de réduire notre exposition à des substances dangereuses. Il est temps que le gouvernement s’acquitte de cette responsabilité et fasse preuve de leadership pour protéger les Canadiens contre l’amiante.

Renseignements :

Gabriel Miller

Directeur des questions d’intérêt public

Société canadienne du cancer

bureau national

Tél: 613-852-5404