Society challenges Canadians to go the distance at Relay For Life

18 April 2016

Toronto -

Every year, thousands of Canadians spend months fundraising for the Canadian Cancer Society, and their efforts culminate at Relay For Life events across the country. Whether they are cheering on survivors, walking the track, passing the baton to their teammates or joining in exciting trackside activities, these folks know that Relay For Life is more than a cancer walk – it’s a journey.

“With an aging and growing population, the number of cancer cases in Canada is expected to increase by 40% within 15 years, so supporting Relay For Life has never been more urgent for Canadians,” says Paulanne Jushkevich, Chief Philanthropy Officer, Canadian Cancer Society. “Money raised from Relay For Life funds life-saving research and vital support services for people living with cancer and their families, along with other important work.”

 

The Society is the only cancer charity in Canada that does all of the following:

  • The Society funds significantly more cancer research than any other charity in Canada and is the only charity that funds research into all forms of cancer.
  • We provide emotional support for people with cancer and their caregivers. No other charity funds the range of information and support services that we offer. Last year, almost 173,000 Canadians were helped through the Society’s support services.
  • The Society invests in prevention work related to healthy living and cancer screening in communities across the country. From workplace campaigns to school initiatives, the Society mobilizes Canadians to stop cancer before it starts.
  • Our advocacy for public policies helps protect Canadians from cancer-causing substances at work, at home and at play. We advocate for government programs to support Canadians living with cancer. A recent success in this area has been the improvement of the EI compassionate care benefits to 26 weeks, allowing family caregivers to take time off work in order to provide care and support to a loved one in palliative care.

“We can’t do all of this work without our Relay For Life participants and the communities that support them,” says Jushkevich. “That’s why we’re asking Canadians to accept the baton, help us achieve our goal of raising $30 million and then come celebrate at one of the 300 unforgettable Relay For Life events across the country.”

Accept the baton. Learn more and register today at relayforlife.ca!

About Relay For Life

Relay For Life is the Canadian Cancer Society’s signature fundraiser. The events are for everyone as people can participate at any age or fitness level. Money raised through Relay For Life funds Canada’s most promising cancer research and vital support services for people with cancer and their families.

 

Social media information

Facebook: facebook.com/RelayForLifeCanada

Twitter: @cancersociety

Hashtags: #RelayForLife #WhyIRelay #AcceptTheBaton

The Canadian Cancer Society is a national community-based organization of volunteers whose mission is the eradication of cancer and the enhancement of the quality of life of people living with cancer. When you want to know more about cancer, visit our website www.cancer.ca or call our toll-free, bilingual Cancer Information Service at 1 888 939-3333.

For more information, please contact:

Rosie Hales

Communications Specialist

Canadian Cancer Society

National office

Phone: 416 934-5338

La Société lance un défi aux Canadiens d’aller plus loin au Relais pour la vie

18 avril 2016

Toronto -

Chaque année, des milliers de Canadiens passent des mois à recueillir des fonds pour la Société canadienne du cancer et leurs efforts se terminent aux événements Relais pour la vie partout au pays. Qu’ils soient là pour acclamer les survivants, marcher, passer le bâton à leur coéquipier ou participer aux activités en bordure de piste, le Relais pour la vie est bien plus qu’une marche contre le cancer, c’est un parcours.

 « En raison d’une population vieillissante et croissante, on prévoit que le nombre de cas de cancer au Canada augmentera de 40 % d’ici 15 ans, alors il n’a jamais été aussi urgent d’appuyer le Relais pour la vie », dit Paulanne Jushkevich, chef de la philanthropie à la Société canadienne du cancer. « L’argent recueilli grâce au Relais pour la vie finance la recherche qui sauve des vies et les services de soutien vitaux pour les personnes vivant avec le cancer et leur famille, ainsi que d’autres travaux importants. »

La Société est le seul organisme de bienfaisance dédié au cancer au Canada à accomplir tout ce qui suit :

  • La Société finance beaucoup plus de recherche sur le cancer que tout autre organisme de bienfaisance au Canada et est le seul organisme à financer la recherche sur tous les types de cancer.
  • Nous offrons un soutien émotif aux personnes ayant un cancer et à leurs aidants. Aucun autre organisme de bienfaisance n’offre la variété de services d’information et de soutien que nous offrons. L’an dernier, presque 173 000 Canadiens ont été aidés par les services de soutien de la Société.
  • La Société investit dans la prévention liée à une vie saine et au dépistage du cancer dans les communautés partout au pays. Des campagnes sur les lieux de travail aux initiatives scolaires, la Société mobilise les Canadiens pour arrêter le cancer avant qu’il n’apparaisse.
  • Notre défense de l’intérêt public pour obtenir des politiques publiques aide à protéger les Canadiens des substances cancérogènes au travail, à la maison et où ils se divertissent. Nous intervenons pour obtenir des programmes gouvernementaux qui soutiennent les Canadiens vivant avec le cancer. Un succès récent dans ce domaine a été l’amélioration des prestations de soignant de l’AE à 26 semaines, permettant aux aidants membres de la famille de prendre congé du travail afin de prodiguer des soins et d’appuyer un être cher au stade palliatif.

« Nous ne pouvons pas faire ce travail sans les participants au Relais pour la vie et les communautés qui les appuient », dit Mme Jushkevich. « C’est pourquoi nous demandons aux Canadiens d’accepter le bâton, de nous aider à atteindre notre objectif de 30 millions de dollars puis de venir célébrer à un des 300 événements inoubliables ayant lieu au pays. »

Acceptez le bâton. Apprenez-en plus et inscrivez-vous aujourd’hui à relaisourlavie.ca!

 

À propos du Relais pour la vie
Le Relais pour la vie est le principal événement de la Société canadienne du cancer. Les événements s’adressent aux personnes de tous les âges et niveaux de forme physique. L’argent recueilli par le biais du Relais pour la vie finance les projets de recherche les plus prometteurs au Canada et les services de soutien vitaux pour les personnes vivant avec le cancer et leur famille.

Information sur les médias sociaux

Facebook : facebook.com/RelayForLifeCanada

Twitter : @cancersociety

Mot-clé : #RelayForLife #WhyIRelay #AcceptTheBaton

À propos de la Société canadienne du cancer
La Société canadienne du cancer est un organisme bénévole national, à caractère communautaire, dont la mission est l’éradication du cancer et l’amélioration de la qualité de vie des personnes touchées par le cancer. Grâce à nos donateurs et à nos bénévoles, la Société a le plus d'impact, contre le plus de cancers, dans le plus de collectivités au Canada. Pour plus d’information, visitez cancer.ca ou appelez sans frais notre Service bilingue d’information sur le cancer au 1-888-939-3333 (ATS 1-866-786-3934).

Renseignements :

Rosie Hales

Spécialiste des communications

Société canadienne du cancer

bureau national

Téléphone : 416 934-5338