A A A

Society responds to federal election results

20 October 2015

Toronto -

Following yesterday’s federal election, the Canadian Cancer Society congratulates the Liberal Party of Canada and all members of Canada’s newly elected Parliament.

“We look forward to working with all parties in the new Parliament and with the new government led by Justin Trudeau. The Society would like to thank all candidates for their contributions to our communities and our country,” says Pamela Fralick, President and CEO, Canadian Cancer Society. “Together we can build a healthier Canada, provide better support for people with cancer and their families, and accelerate the fight against cancer – our country’s leading cause of death.”

During their campaign, the Liberal Party proposed improved financial support for caregivers, committed $3 billion over 4 years to improve access to vital home care for Canadians and proposed the implementation of plain packaging for tobacco.

The Society looks forward to working with all parties in the new Parliament and thanks the current Parliament for their service to Canada and support of the Canadian Cancer Society.

“Finally, we extend our appreciation and best wishes to Stephen Harper, to his cabinet colleagues and to all departing members of Parliament and their staff,” says Ms Fralick.

About the Canadian Cancer Society: 

The Canadian Cancer Society is a national, community-based organization of volunteers whose mission is to eradicate cancer and enhance the quality of life of people living with cancer. Thanks to our donors and volunteers, the Society has the most impact, against the most cancers, in the most communities in Canada. For more information, visit cancer.ca or call our toll-free bilingual Cancer Information Service at 1-888-939-3333 (TTY 1-866-786-3934).

For more information, please contact:

Rosie Hales

Communications Specialist

Canadian Cancer Society

National office

Phone: 416 934-5338

A A A

La Société réagit aux résultats de l’élection fédérale

20 octobre 2015

Toronto -

Au lendemain de l’élection fédérale, la Société canadienne du cancer félicite le Parti libéral du Canada de même que tous les membres du parlement canadien nouvellement élu.

« Nous sommes impatients de collaborer avec tous les partis représentés dans le nouveau parlement et avec le nouveau gouvernement dirigé par Justin Trudeau. La Société aimerait également remercier tous les candidats à l’élection pour leur apport à nos communautés ainsi qu’au pays tout entier, déclare Pamela Fralick, présidente et chef de la direction de la Société canadienne du cancer. Ensemble, nous pouvons bâtir un Canada en meilleure santé, améliorer le soutien accordé aux patients et aux familles, et accélérer la lutte contre le cancer, principale cause de mortalité au pays. »

Durant sa campagne, le Parti libéral a proposé de bonifier le soutien financier aux proches aidants, s’est engagé à investir 3 milliards de dollars pendant quatre ans pour améliorer l’accès aux soins à domicile, d’une importance vitale pour les Canadiens, et a proposé d’instaurer l’emballage neutre des produits du tabac.

La Société a hâte de travailler avec tous les membres du nouveau parlement et remercie le parlement actuel pour les services rendus au Canada et pour son appui à la lutte qu’elle mène contre le cancer.

« Nous souhaitons aussi témoigner notre reconnaissance et exprimer nos meilleurs vœux à Stephen Harper, aux membres de son cabinet ainsi qu’à tous les membres sortants du parlement et leur personnel », conclut madame Fralick.

À propos de la Société canadienne du cancer

La Société canadienne du cancer est un organisme bénévole national, à caractère communautaire, dont la mission est l’éradication du cancer et l'amélioration de la qualité de vie des personnes touchées par le cancer. Grâce à nos donateurs et à nos bénévoles, la Société est l’organisme qui a le plus d’impact, sur le plus de cancers, dans le plus de collectivités au Canada. Pour de plus amples renseignements, visitez cancer.ca ou appelez notre Service d’information sur le cancer, un service bilingue et gratuit, au 1 888 939-3333 (ATS : 1 866 786-3934).

Renseignements :

Rosie Hales

Spécialiste des communications

Société canadienne du cancer

bureau national

Téléphone : 416 934-5338