A A A

Society welcomes proposal to improve home care

30 September 2015

Toronto -

The Canadian Cancer Society supports federal action to improve home care, as proposed today by Liberal leader Justin Trudeau.

The proposed 4-year, $3-billion investment would help to increase access to vital home care services for all Canadians.

“Affordable, high-quality home care services will help meet Canadians’ growing healthcare needs, while making life better for patients who would otherwise have to stay in hospital in order to receive care,” says Gabriel Miller, Director, Public Issues, Canadian Cancer Society. “This would be a welcome step forward, and we continue to urge all parties to make homecare – and healthcare generally – a priority.”

The Society is also encouraged by actions proposed today to increase innovation, provide more affordable medications and strengthen federal health partnerships with provincial and territorial governments.

“We look forward to hearing more details about these proposed improvements and working with all parties to improve patient care and put our healthcare systems on a sustainable financial path for the future,” says Mr. Miller.

The Society is calling on all federal parties to make health a priority in the 2015 election campaign and to support policies that will contribute to the eradication of cancer, the sustainability of our health systems and enhanced quality of life for people with cancer and their families.

The Canadian Cancer Society is a national community-based organization of volunteers whose mission is the eradication of cancer and the enhancement of the quality of life of people living with cancer. When you want to know more about cancer, visit our website www.cancer.ca or call our toll-free, bilingual Cancer Information Service at 1 888 939-3333.

For more information, please contact:

Rosie Hales

Communications Specialist

Canadian Cancer Society

National office

Phone: 416 934-5338

A A A

La Société canadienne du cancer salue la proposition du parti libéral concernant l’amélioration des soins à domicile

30 septembre 2015

Toronto -

La Société canadienne du cancer appuie une action fédérale proposée aujourd’hui par le chef du parti libéral Justin Trudeau : un investissement de trois milliards de dollars dans l’amélioration des soins à domicile. Cet investissement, échelonné sur quatre ans, contribuerait à améliorer l’accès des Canadiens aux soins à domicile essentiels.

« Il est capital d’offrir aux Canadiens des soins à domicile de premier plan à un coût abordable, car les besoins en matière de santé ne cessent d’augmenter au pays, a fait valoir Gabriel Miller, directeur des questions d’intérêt public à la Société canadienne du cancer. Une telle initiative rehausserait la qualité de vie des Canadiens en leur évitant de séjourner à l’hôpital pour y recevoir des soins. Cette mesure constituerait un grand pas vers l’avant, et nous demandons à tous les partis politiques de faire des soins à domicile – et de la santé en général – une priorité. »

La Société se réjouit également des mesures proposées aujourd’hui pour stimuler l’innovation, pour réduire le coût des médicaments et pour renforcer l’établissement de partenariats plus étroits entre le gouvernement fédéral et les gouvernements des provinces et territoires.

« Nous attendons avec impatience le détail des mesures proposées et sommes enthousiastes à l’idée de collaborer avec tous les partis à l’amélioration des soins aux patients pour refaire du système de santé un instrument viable financièrement », a enchaîné M. Miller.

La Société enjoint à tous les partis fédéraux de faire de la santé une priorité dans la campagne électorale de 2015 et de mettre de l’avant des politiques qui contribueront à l’éradication du cancer, à la viabilité de nos systèmes de santé et à l’amélioration de la qualité de vie des patients et de leurs familles.

 

À propos de la Société canadienne du cancer

La Société canadienne du cancer est un organisme bénévole national, à caractère communautaire, dont la mission est l’éradication du cancer et l’amélioration de la qualité de vie des personnes touchées par le cancer. Pour en savoir davantage sur la maladie, visitez cancer.ca ou appelez notre Service d’information sur le cancer, un service bilingue et gratuit, au 1 888 939-3333.

Renseignements :

Rosie Hales

Spécialiste des communications

Société canadienne du cancer

bureau national

Téléphone : 416 934-5338