A A A

Canada heading towards cancer crisis

12 April 2005

Toronto -

Canada’s aging baby boomers and the country’s growing population are propelling Canada into a cancer crisis, according to Canadian Cancer Statistics 2005 released today by the Canadian Cancer Society.

“The number of new cancer cases in Canada is growing twice as fast as the population is growing,” says Heather Logan, Director, Cancer Control Policy, Canadian Cancer Society. “Cancer is already straining our healthcare system and it’s going to get worse as the number of new cancer cases increases as the baby boom generation ages.”

From 2000 to 2004, the population grew about one per cent annually while the number of cancer cases grew by about two per cent per year. Logan adds that if current trends continue with the growing and aging population, it is expected that 5.7 million Canadians will develop cancer and 2.7 million people will die of the disease over the next 30 years.

“This disease causes immeasurable suffering for Canadians,” says Dr. Barbara Whylie, CEO, Canadian Cancer Society. “In addition, the direct healthcare costs of cancer will have a severe impact on our economy. Canada urgently needs to implement the Canadian Strategy for Cancer Control. We need to take action to fight cancer in a coordinated way from coast to coast.”

Prevention is one important way to offset the trend of increasing cancer cases and Progress in Cancer Prevention: Modifiable Risk Factors is the special topic in this year’s report.

“There are many risk factors for cancer that we cannot change, such as age, sex and genetic inheritance,” says Logan. “But there are also important cancer risk factors that people can change. If we can help more people adopt healthier lifestyles, we’ll see fewer Canadians diagnosed with cancer in the future.”

Tobacco use, unhealthy diet, physical inactivity, excess body weight, alcohol consumption, overexposure to the sun and exposure to environmental and workplace carcinogens account for a substantial number of cancer diagnoses each year.

The prevention special topic shows that:

  • 60 per cent of Canadians do not eat the recommended amounts of fruit and vegetables.
  • About half of Canadians (54 per cent of women and 44 per cent of men) are physically inactive.
  • Almost half of Canadians (56 per cent of men, 39 per cent of women) are at an unhealthy body weight.
  • Rates of physical inactivity are declining slowly but rates of excess body weight are increasing, especially in children.
  • 18 per cent of Canadians over 12 years of age are heavy drinkers.
  • In 2002, 21 per cent of Canadians over 12 years of age smoked and 18 per cent of youth aged 15-19.
  • Tobacco use is declining but is still high in some groups.

“A considerable body of evidence has accumulated over the last 30 years about how to prevent cancer,” says Logan. “We’ve made great inroads in cancer prevention through  tobacco control and if we apply these lessons to other areas even greater gains can be made. We have to work harder at both helping Canadians to embrace healthy lifestyles and helping governments to create policies that encourage people to make these changes.”

Logan adds that at least 50 per cent of cancers can be prevented through healthy living and policies that protect the public.

“The Canadian Strategy for Cancer Control has an action plan for prevention that, if implemented, would bring about important reductions in cancer incidence,” says Whylie.

Whylie adds that over the next 30 years, if a Canadian Strategy for Cancer Control is implemented, there is the potential to prevent more than 1.2 million Canadians from developing cancer and it could save the lives of more than 420,000 Canadians.

The need for a Canadian Strategy for Cancer Control was identified in the late 1990s by four groups – the Canadian Cancer Society, the Canadian Association of Provincial Cancer Agencies, Health Canada and the National Cancer Institute of Canada. The goals of the strategy are to reduce risk of developing cancer, reduce risk of dying of cancer, and to improve quality of life for those diagnosed with cancer.

Data for this year’s special topic – Progress in Cancer Prevention: Modifiable Risk Factors – were obtained primarily from the Progress Report on Cancer Control in Canada, published by the Public Health Agency of Canada in 2004.

Canadian Cancer Statistics 2005 is prepared, printed and distributed through a collaboration of the Canadian Cancer Society, the Public Health Agency of Canada, the National Cancer Institute of Canada, Statistics Canada, provincial/territorial cancer registries, as well as university-based and provincial/territorial cancer agency-based cancer researchers.

The Canadian Cancer Society is a national community-based organization of volunteers whose mission is to eradicate cancer and to enhance the quality of life of people living with cancer. When you want to know more about cancer, visit our website www.cancer.ca or call our toll-free, bilingual Cancer Information Service at 1 888 939-3333.

Satellite information for video B-roll (English only):

Date of feed: Tuesday, April 12 1:00 p.m. to 1:30 p.m.(EDT)

Coordinates: Anik F2 C

Band Analog,

Transponder 6B,

Audio subcarrier 6.2 and 6.8,

Downlink Frequency 3940 vertical

For technical information during the feed, call CFA at 416-504-5071, ext. 350

Broadcast information for radio audio clips package (English only):

Date of feed: Tuesday, April 12, 1:15 – 1:20 p.m. EDT and 1:45 p.m. – 1:50 p.m. EDT

Co-ordinates:   BN Channel 4

For technical information during the feed, call Broadcast News at 416-507-2181

The Canadian Cancer Society is a national community-based organization of volunteers whose mission is the eradication of cancer and the enhancement of the quality of life of people living with cancer. When you want to know more about cancer, visit our website www.cancer.ca or call our toll-free, bilingual Cancer Information Service at 1 888 939-3333.

For more information, please contact:

Christine Harminc

Senior Manager, Communications & Media Relations

Canadian Cancer Society

Phone: 416 934-5340

A A A

Le Canada se dirige vers une crise du cancer

12 avril 2005

Toronto -

L’avancée en âge de la génération du baby-boom et l’accroissement de la population sont en voie de plonger le Canada dans une crise du cancer, si l’on en croit les Statistiques canadiennes sur le cancer 2005 publiées aujourd’hui par la Société canadienne du cancer.

«L’accroissement de nouveaux cas de cancer au pays est deux fois plus rapide que celui de la population», déclare Heather Logan, directrice des politiques de lutte contre le cancer à la Société canadienne du cancer. «Le cancer exerce déjà une énorme pression sur notre système de soins de santé; la situation sera loin de s’améliorer avec le vieillissement des baby-boomers

De 2000 à 2004, la population canadienne a connu une croissance annuelle d’environ 1 %, alors que le nombre de nouveaux diagnostics de cancer augmentait d’environ 2 % par année. Madame Logan ajoute que si cette tendance se maintient, tout comme l’accroissement et le vieillissement de la population, on peut s’attendre à ce que 5,7 millions de Canadiens développent une forme ou une autre de cancer au cours des 30 prochaines années et que 2,7 millions de personnes meurent des suites de la maladie au cours de la même période.

«Ce fléau entraîne des souffrances incalculables pour les Canadiens», renchérit la Dre Barbara Whylie, chef de la direction de la Société canadienne du cancer. «Sans compter que les coûts directs en soins de santé auront des effets considérables sur notre économie. Il est impératif que le Canada mette rapidement en œuvre la Stratégie canadienne de lutte contre le cancer. Il faut entreprendre sans tarder une lutte concertée, d’un océan à l’autre, pour mettre le cancer en échec.»

La prévention constitue un des principaux moyens de renverser l’accroissement de l’incidence du cancer et fait l’objet d’une section spéciale dans le rapport de cette année, intitulée Progrès dans la prévention du cancer : facteurs de risque modifiables.

«Nous ne pouvons absolument rien à plusieurs des facteurs de risque de cancer, comme l’âge, le sexe et le bagage génétique», précise madame Logan. «Mais il existe par contre d’importants facteurs sur lesquels nous pouvons agir. Si nous arrivons à inciter plus de gens à adopter de meilleures habitudes de vie, le cancer finira par toucher de moins en moins de Canadiens.»

La tabagisme, la mauvaise alimentation, la sédentarité, l’excès de poids, la consommation d’alcool, l’exposition excessive au soleil et l’exposition à des substances carcinogènes dans l’environnement et au travail sont responsables chaque année d’un nombre important de diagnostics de cancer.

Dans la section spéciale portant sur la prévention, on peut lire notamment que :

  • ·60 % des Canadiens ne consomment pas les quantités de fruits et de légumes recommandées;
  • Environ la moitié de la population du pays (54 % des femmes et 44 % des hommes) n’est pas physiquement active;
  • Environ la moitié des Canadiens (56 % des hommes et 39 % des femmes) n’ont pas un poids santé;
  • La sédentarité diminue lentement mais on observe de plus en plus de cas d’excès de poids, en particulier chez les enfants;
  • 18 % des Canadiens de plus de 12 ans affichent une consommation abusive d’alcool;
  • En 2002, au Canada, 21 % des jeunes de plus de 12 ans et 18 % des jeunes de 15 ans à 19 ans étaient des fumeurs;
  • Le tabagisme est en perte de vitesse mais demeure élevé dans certains groupes.

«Au cours des 30 dernières années, nous avons appris beaucoup sur les moyens de prévenir le cancer», poursuit madame Logan. «D’immenses progrès ont été accomplis à ce chapitre grâce à la lutte antitabac et nous pourrions aller encore plus loin en transposant dans d’autres secteurs l’expérience que nous avons acquise. Nous devons intensifier nos efforts à la fois pour aider les Canadiens à vivre plus sainement et pour aider les gouvernements à créer des politiques qui encourageront les gens à changer leurs habitudes.»

Madame Logan précise qu’il serait possible de prévenir au moins la moitié des cas de cancer par de saines habitudes de vie et des politiques de protection de la santé publique.

«La Stratégie canadienne de lutte contre le cancer a prévu un plan d’action préventive qui devrait entraîner des réductions significatives de l’incidence du cancer – à condition bien sûr d’être mis en œuvre», affirme la Dre Whylie.

La Dre Whylie ajoute qu’une stratégie nationale de lutte contre le cancer pourrait éventuellement empêcher plus de 1,2 million de Canadiens de développer un cancer et sauver plus de 420 000 vies au pays au cours des 30 prochaines années.

La nécessité d’une telle stratégie a été identifiée à la fin des années 90 par quatre groupes – la Société canadienne du cancer, l’Association canadienne des organismes provinciaux de lutte contre le cancer, Santé Canada et l’Institut national du cancer du Canada. La stratégie a pour but de réduire les risques de morbidité et de mortalité liées au cancer ainsi que d’améliorer la qualité de vie des personnes touchées par la maladie.

Les données présentées dans la thématique spéciale de cette année – Progrès dans la prévention du cancer : facteurs de risque modifiables – sont tirées principalement du Rapport d’étape sur la lutte contre le cancer au Canada, publié par l’Agence de santé publique du Canada en 2004.

Les Statistiques canadiennes sur le cancer 2005 sont compilées, imprimées et distribuées grâce à la collaboration de la Société canadienne du cancer, de l’Agence de santé publique du Canada, de l’Institut national du cancer du Canada, de Statistique Canada, des registres provinciaux et territoriaux du cancer ainsi que de chercheurs rattachés à des universités ou à des organismes provinciaux et territoriaux de lutte contre le cancer.

La Société canadienne du cancer est un organisme bénévole national, à caractère communautaire, dont la mission est l'éradication du cancer et l'amélioration de la qualité de vie des personnes touchées par le cancer. Pour en savoir plus sur le cancer, visitez le www.cancer.ca ou appelez notre Service d'information sur le cancer, un service gratuit et bilingue, au 1 888 939-3333.