You are here: 


The Canadian Cancer Society’s national office and each of its provincial offices are accountable to a volunteer board of directors. The board’s responsibilities include governance, leadership, public accountability, establishing the Society’s nation-wide and provincial priorities and acting as a trustee on behalf of Canadians.

  • Board of Directors

    Robert Lawrie (Chair)
    Toronto, ON

    Bretta Maloff
    Calgary, AB

    Rob Assimakopoulos
    Toronto, ON

    Christine McCourt-Reid
    Edmonton, AB
    Dr Robert Bell
    Toronto, ON

    Nancy McKay
    Fredericton, NB

    John Boynton
    Toronto, ON

    James Moore
    Port Moody, BC

    Philippe Couillard
    Saint-Félicien, QC

    Bruce Rothney
    Toronto, ON
    Dr. Chen Fong Valerie Steele
    Toronto, ON
    Chan Hon Goh 
    West Vancouver, BC 
    Christopher Wein

    Dr David Huntsman
    Vancouver, BC
    Dr Michael Woods
    St. John's, NL
    Shachi Kurl
    Vancouver, BC
    David Woollcombe

  • A message from the Chair of our Board of Directors
    Robert Lawrie

    2017-18 was historic for the Canadian Cancer Society (CCS). Our merger with the Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation brought together 2 of the largest health charities in Canada in a bold move which provided resources more efficiently to deliver on our combined mission.

    Knowing nearly half of Canadians will be diagnosed with cancer in our lifetimes and forecasting the incidence of the disease to rise dramatically by 2030, CCS needed to address this surge with new strategies. While we will continue to be the largest charitable underwriter of cancer research and to offer trusted and compassionate information and support to patients and their clinical and personal supporters, we are also embarking on several new initiatives seeking to prevent cancer by conducting research into healthier living and advocating those choices directly and through public policies.

    More than ever, CCS is contributing to the eradication of cancer through research and prevention. Until then, we will make every effort to assist those of us whose lives are impacted – patients, families, supporting caregivers, clinicians and researchers.

    On behalf of the Board of Directors, thank you to our leadership, donors and volunteers. This transformative year could not have happened without your support.

    Robert Lawrie

  • Executive Leadership Team

    Andrea Seale
    Chief Executive Officer

    Jonathan Oldman
    Executive Director, British Columbia and Yukon

    Sara Oates
    Executive Vice-President, Finance and Operations

    Paula Roberts
    Executive Vice-President, Marketing and Communications

    Jeff Cornett
    Executive Director, Ontario

    Debbie Singh
    Executive Vice-President, People and Culture

    Denis Lalonde
    Executive Director, Quebec

    Sandra Krueckl
    Vice President, Cancer Control, Chair of Mission

    Dan Holinda
    Regional Executive Director, Prairies

    Andrea Seale
    Regional Executive Director, BC/Yukon

    Jane Parsons
    Regional Executive Director, Atlantic
    Michael Mazza
    Executive Vice President, Leadership Giving


    Contact a member of our senior leadership team at

  • Newfoundland and Labrador Advisory Board

    Sharon Smith (Chair)
    St. John’s, NL

    Darren Martin
    St. John’s, NL

    Mark Collett
    St. John’s, NL

    Jennifer Mitchell
    Corner Brook, NL

    James Haynes
    St. John’s, NL

    Jason Muise
    St. John’s, NL

    Katie Hoskins
    St. John’s, NL

    Paula Tessier
    Mount Pearl, NL

    Christine Howse
    St. John’s, NL

    Boyce Turnbull
    Charlottetown, NL

    Christopher Lewis
    St. John’s, NL

    Mike Wahl
    St. John’s, NL